A moment at Shai Hills

At the Dipo Spot
At the Dipo Spot

I went to Shai Hills Game Reserve over the weekend too. It’s a few minutes drive from Stone Lodge. On Saturday morning, I had to get Camel antiseptic. I basically forgot to carry everything in my bag. I forgot my brush and other things. I didn’t forget my sponge, I intentionally left it in Accra and I know most of you will jump into your own conclusions. Eh fine, I don’t like bathing, I like it like that!

One of the Hills
One of the Hills

For certain reasons, I will leave or I have left somethings out, but I will still tell you everything. The whole story!  I got to Asutsuare Junction with the aim of finding a shop to buy my antiseptic, but decided to go to the Game Reserve and to see the Shai Hills. Honestly, I had no idea that there was a game reserve there because that was my first time in that part of the country. I saw some monkeys on our way to Stone Lodge and I went like, “oohhh!” It should be a monkey sanctuary because it’s only monkeys you will see. I mean I saw an antelope and heard some bats but you only feel the presence of the monkeys since they come close when you have food.IMG_0236

IMG_0251

I went to see the caves that belonged to the Shai people who came from Nigeria and I heard a little bit of history about their migration. I climbed up mountains, saw the caves for the bats and also where the Dipo Girls hid for 6 months until they passed out.

The Ostriches
The Ostriches
It Posed
It Posed

Honestly, it was not fun at all. The mountain climb was some how interesting because of a reason that I can’t disclose here but the place is empty. Oh and there were 3 Ostriches. Yeah, seriously. I wont waste my time…..next time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

